top of page

BY-LAWS of the 


Amended 1966, 1990, 1997, 2008, 2019, and 2022


     The name of the organization shall be the Iowa Honey Producers Association. (As amended at the 1966 annual meeting from Iowa Beekeepers Association - Organized December 12, 1912.)


     The mission of this Association shall be to coordinate the interest of the beekeepers of Iowa and bring them into closer relationship of mutual helpfulness by association, conference and correspondence; to sponsor legislation for the benefit and protection of the industry; to assist in the dissemination of information on the control of pests and diseases; to inform the members and the public of the valuable use of honey and other products of the hive, as well as the importance of the honey bee in relation to the pollination of agricultural crops, and to support every effort to promote the advancement of the beekeeping industry. 


      SECTION 1.  Anyone interested in the beekeeping industry is entitled to a membership in this organization.

      SECTION 2.  The annual membership dues in the Association shall be determined by a majority vote of the

members present at the annual meeting of the members of the Association. The membership dues in the Association shall entitle the holder membership from January 1 until December 31. The record date for determining the members entitled to notice of and to vote at the annual meeting of the members of the Association shall be sixty days prior to the annual meeting of the members. Each member in good standing as of the record date shall be entitled to one vote at the annual meeting of the members of the Association.


    SECTION 1.  The officers of this Association shall be a president, a vice-president, secretary, treasurer and historian. There will also be seven directors, one of which will be the immediate past president.  All officers will hold office for one year and be elected at large from the State of Iowa. Each officer or director shall be 21 years of age or older. Six directors shall be elected, three each year for two year terms.  The immediate past president shall remain as a director until the election of another president.  The six directors, excluding the past president, shall be elected, one from each district of Iowa, with these districts corresponding to a map approved by the board. Map changes can only occur once per year. 

    SECTION 2.  The officers and directors shall constitute the Executive Board.  The State Apiarist shall be an ex-officio voting member of the Executive Board.

      SECTION 3.  An individual elected to the Executive Board may resign in writing at any time. Resignation letter should

be sent to the President and all other officers receive a copy.  Unless otherwise specified, a resignation is effective upon receipt.

     SECTION 4.  Any Executive Board member may be removed from the Executive Board upon failure to fulfill the duties set forth in Article VI, or as deemed necessary by the Executive Board, as determined by a two-thirds vote of then-seated Executive Board.  Any member of the Executive Board who has missed three (3) board meetings in a given twelve month period will be removed for cause.

      SECTION 5.  Any vacancies on the Executive Board shall be filled by the Executive Board for the un-expired term.

     SECTION 6.  Newly elected officers and directors shall assume responsibilities of such officers at the close of the annual meeting.


    SECTION 1. The Executive Board shall meet at the call of the president or upon written request from a majority of the Executive Board. Such written request shall be sent to the Association secretary.  Five or more Executive Board Members shall constitute a quorum at a meeting of the Executive Board.  Attendance  at an Executive Board Meetings shall take place in-person, by electronic meeting software or telephonic conference call.  Except for Executive Sessions, all board meeting shall be open to members of IHPA.  The president shall determine whether input shall be heard from the general membership at the Executive Board meeting.

     SECTION 2. The annual meeting of the members of the Association shall be held at the time and place selected by the Executive Board. 


      SECTION 1.  The president shall preside at all meetings, appoint all committee chairmen and perform such other

duties as pertain to the office. The president shall  concur with respective chairmen on completing committee personnel.

      SECTION 2.  In the absence of the president, the vice president shall perform the duties of the president.

      SECTION 3.  The secretary shall record the minutes at each meeting of the Executive Board.

      SECTION 4.  The treasurer, under the direction of the Executive Board, shall handle all the funds and carry on

all business of the Association. The books will close on September 30.  A report will be given at the annual meeting concerning the Association finances.  The annual review will be published in the Association newsletter.

     SECTION 5. The historian will assemble historical Iowa beekeeping information in an orderly fashion, store it in a safe place and make it accessible to those requesting it. In addition, new information will be assembled and added each year to ascertain a usable history of Iowa beekeeping.

      SECTION 6.  All proprietary information shall be relinquished to the president at the end of an officer’s or director’s



     The by-laws may be amended at any annual meeting by a two-thirds vote of the members present, providing proposed amendments have been presented in writing to the members at least ten days before the annual meeting.


     It shall be the duty of the Executive Board to cancel any activities of this Association found in the by-laws which they deem advisable during any emergency.

bottom of page